close
cart free ship
facebook twitter pinterest youtube
SALON FINDER | MY ACCOUNT | MY REWARDS

Product reviews for:
     
$8.00
4.5 Stars based on 47 Review(s)
Talisa Pace
New York
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Expected a different type of hold...
April 22, 2014
...but I was pleasantly surprised! It's a good, soft hold. Even if I put in a lot, as long as it evenly distributed in my hair with a fine tooth comb, my style has no flakes. I have a style that's been holding for the past 4 days and it's soft! This never happens with any other gel.

Callista
Florida
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Love the Scent!
September 8, 2013
I decided to try a different product than usually use for my two stranded twists. This product was indeed a refreshing change! I love the clean, coconut scent and the way it molds my twists without greasy buildup. My husband loves the way my hair smells, too. It has great holding power, and it doesn't flake. Five stars!
Best Uses:
Best for use immediately after washing hair, or on dry hair. Can also be used for a touch up or for refreshing your hair if you haven't time to wash it.

bridgette
Denver
3 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Good Product
August 21, 2013
I recently purchased this product because the loc gel I usually buy is no longer available. This product is not as creamy as I like, but it works well and there is not build up. I apply it generously and sit under the dryer to ensure it sets. But I am pleased with the product.

Torriamanda
Covington, Georgia
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
GREAT RESULTS!!
June 7, 2013
I have fallen in love with this gel. I used it to define my curl pattern after a co-wash it was great my hair felt soft to the touch it wasn't hard at all. The product was better than what I expected I plan to buy more in the future. This would have to be my new go to gel.
Best Uses:
Define curls Havana twist

Gail
Nashville, TN
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Love it
May 25, 2012
I enjoy my locks being tightened with this product and not having my hair hardened and no messy build up.

Donnie
Durham North Carolina
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Man Locks
April 16, 2012
I purchase the Black Earth Lock It Up Gel- Tight Hold as the title states for my Locks. A few people have asked what shop do you go to for your locks and what do they use? My wife does my locks and I use Lock It Up Gel. Here is the kicker My wife locks are done at a shop, our daughter always say mine look better that her. What you need to understand is with LOVE & Lock It Up Gel. That's all it takes LOVE & Lock It Up Gel.

SJ
Philadelphia
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Love This Product
February 9, 2012
When I started using this product my dreads locked more quickly. Holds great, hair does not feel dry or flaky. Also has a great shine. Works well whether you air dry or blow dry. Pleasant smell.

novie g
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
finally!!!
December 7, 2011
a great product with strong hold. i'm finally able to tame my unruly locks! makes self-maintenance super easy :)

Angela
Oklahoma
1 Stars
Didnt work for me.
November 25, 2011
Didnt work for me like i thought. I expected more of a pomade thicker product than what it was. It didnt hold my edges at all.

Skywalker
Polacca, AZ
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Good hold, great smell
June 2, 2011
Helps with twisting locks and holding down stray hairs. Love the coconut smell.

Mary
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Great hold for my hair that was previously hard to hold
May 20, 2011
My hair when I was using the product before I discovered Black Earth Tight Hold Gel, would be frizzy and not holding on the ends.very soon after I used my other products.

bonnie
bend, oregon
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Black Earch lock it up Gel-tight hold
April 16, 2011
These appears to be doing a good job. Need to give it a few more weeks to make final decision. It seems I have to use a bit more than my other product I was happy with so with that said cost may be similar. Gel has a weird feel, sort of gritty from the bottle compared to normal gel but goes on easy and seems to do a good job of holding the curl and keeping the frizz away.

Deborah
Havelock, NC
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
I love it!!
April 4, 2011
I really love this product. It goes on easily and holds very well. Because it has a damp texture, without being greasy, it alliviates the need to spray repeatedly while twisting before getting under the dryer. In fact, I've tried it without using the dryer and it works just as well. My twisted locs have a strong hold and don't feel hard or crusty as with most gel hold products. I have been able to moisturize, oil, condition, etc and use this product on top of everything else, and still get a good hold. I just tie it down with my new G-Wrap Nylon Head Scarf, and go to sleep, do housework, or gardening--a few hours later and its done!

Maya
Pasadena, MD
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Great!
February 20, 2011
This stuff is great! I just started to try locking my hair and this was really good for hold!

Ismaelle
Tampa
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel- Tight Hold
February 3, 2011
I like the hold and I LOVE how it doesn't flake. I used all these other gels that claim there is no flaking but that was never true. The container is little but I don't use gel on my hair that often so this shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Kimberly
Oakland, CA
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Best stuff!
January 13, 2011
I have searched and searched for gel to keep my new locks looking fresh and healthy. Finally found something as good as the mystery concoction my stylist uses. This stuff holds tight and doesn't flake! keeps my hair healthy and smelling good too.

Betty Neil
Harvey, Illinois
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel- Tight Hold
December 22, 2010
Very good product, my husband has gray hair which is very stubborn to start locs. I would recommend Lock It Up gel to others.

Juanita
Seattle, WA
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Best Loc Gel product I've used
December 10, 2010
I purchased this by accident the first time I received it. I thought I was ordering the regular loc it up gel, not the Tight Hold. Well I thought I'd just try it anyway. Didn't have the same feel to it, but still gave it a chance. The next day and throughout the week, this holds much better than the regular lock it up gel. This is the only gel Ii will use on my locs. Also, it doesn't leave a film or flacks or anything like that.

Delonne
Miami, FL
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
LOVE ,LOVE, LOVE IT
December 8, 2010
I have very loose hair at the top of my head. I am presently locing so the tight hold gel come in very handy, it's not sticky or leaves my hair dry and it hold very well. The ingredients are good too. No build up.....

karen
Mississippi
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Good
October 26, 2010
This gel works well holding my two-strand twists, especially when used while my hair is still wet immediately following shampooing. However, I don't like how tight or stringy looking my twists can look the first day or so. So I've learned it's better to do them with more hair, as thick twists. But that's easily fixed.

Veronica
Racine,WI
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Loved!!!
September 21, 2010
I Just finished my first jar - would give 5 stars but I just wish the jar was larger.

Margarie
PA
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Black Earth Lock it up Gel
August 30, 2010
Very good product. I love the texture of the gel and it also holds my baby locks together. The fragrance is not too much, it is just the right amount of fragrance which is a very fresh aroma. This gel does not leave any dry residue on my locks, as a matter of fact it make my locks feel very soft. I love this product and my Loctician loves it too.

Patricia Dunnagan
Cincinnati. OH.
4 Stars
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel- Tight Hold
June 27, 2010

melissa
oakland ca
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Black Earth Lock it Up Gel
June 19, 2010
works great does not flake holds just right not too hard not too soft. I used it to keep my sisterlocs from unraveling and it did just what i wanted it to do.

Nellie
Durham, NC
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Black Earth Lock It Up Gel
June 1, 2010
I like the texture of this gel. It is light, non-flakey and adds body to my hair. It's a good product, and I'll rate it a 4.

Nita
Hampton, VA
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Great Gel
May 16, 2010
Love this gel, it is not too greasy and holds my hair nicely.

marla loney
brooklyn, ny
5 Stars
lock it up gel
April 26, 2010
Ive been using this gel for three months and i love it. i went natural i february 2010 and just wanted something to curl up my kinky. this products works great.

EDNA ALFRED
BRADENTON,FL
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
BLACK EARTH LOCK IT UP GEL
April 21, 2010
I AM NEW TO LOCKS AND THIS PRODUCT MADE THINGS COME TOGETHER FOR ME. I WAS CONCERNED IT WOULD BE FLAKEY, BUT NO IT WORKED BEAUTIFULLY FOR MY VERY FINE HAIR. THANKS!!!!

NeChelle
Del City, OK
3 Stars
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel
April 6, 2010
I have been using this product a little over a week. I really like the way it makes my hair hair feel soft, but I would expect this to be the job of my hair moisterizer. The gel was a very soft texture, and didn't hold as well as I thought it should for my natural style. I had to mix it with another gel to enhance holding. I do like the way it smoothes hair edges and makes the hair really soft. So an A+ for moisture, but the feel and texture of the gel is not as strong as I thought it would be. I'm not sure if I would order the product again for the purpose of a gel, but possibly for a moisterizer. My hair is not extremely corse, so I did expect better results, due to the previous reviews, which is why I made my purchase. I would only recommend this as a hair moisterizer, but for the purpose of a gel...no.

Jasmine
Orlando, Florida
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Awesome!!
March 27, 2010
Best locking gel I've ever used! Enough said...

betty hebb
Palm Springs
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel
February 24, 2010

Zan
Brooklyn, New York
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel
February 16, 2010
This is the product I've been looking for. I finally found something that doesn't dry or make my hair flake.

charlene
Levittown
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
great
February 14, 2010
It does the job great

Carla D Wallace-Bolston
Hope Mills, NC
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Lock It Up Gel
January 25, 2010
Outstanding gel. I love this product combination. It works so well with natural hair. I'm so glad that I found it !!

CHRISTI NA
COLUMBIA, SC
5 Stars
GREAT!!!!!
January 12, 2010
THIS IS A WONDERFUL PRODUCT . I LOVE IT....

R Clark
Iraq
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Great Gel
January 3, 2010
It's a beautiful gel. It yields beautiful braid outs...It's not sticky and it doesn't flake. I'm impressed!!

carolyn
columbus , OH
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
GREAT PRODUCT!
November 18, 2009
This is a great product. My hair needs moisture and this product provides it without a greasy buildup. Everyone who feels my hair says "Your hair is so soft!" My hair is 4B so this is a great testimony. I won't be without this product.

Cora Barber Eatmon
Mobile, Al
5 Stars
Review for Black Earth Lock It Up Gel
November 9, 2009
Ordered for a friend. He said he finally found what he needed.

Shanett
Camden, DE
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
I have to have it!
October 9, 2009
This product is AWESOME! I have went through five different products to define curls before trying Lock It Up Gel. Nothing compares to this product. It defines my curls without being greasy.

Dee
Detroit, MI
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Black Earth Lock it Up Gel
October 5, 2009
This products does what the description says. It holds locks without drying out the hair. I like for my roots two be twisted and not puff when I do a two strand twist. Just hold down with a hair pins overnight and I have pretty twists from root to end.

Karen
Anderson, SC
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Don't stop making this stuff
September 18, 2009
I love the Black Earth Lock it up Gel! I wear my hair in twists, and it really locks in the curl at the end of each twist. It's light and the fragrance is not over powering like many hair care products. I just reordered two jars.!

TWalker
Mississippi
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Black Earth gel
September 14, 2009
This is the best product ever! It makes my kinky curly hair shiny and super manageable. It is the best product I have found for styilin my hair. This product is a must in my hair care supply.

TWalker
Mississippi
5 Stars
Black Earth gel
September 14, 2009
This is the best product ever! It makes my kinky curly hair shiny and super manageable. It is the best product I have found for styilin my hair. This product is a must in my hair care supply.

Joyce Kennamore
Converse, TX
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
A Wondeful Gel
September 4, 2009
The Black Earth Lock It Up Gel is a wonderful gel for my locks. It doesn't leave my hair sticky or flaky. It leaves it soft and manageable. I love this product, it's by far the best gel I have ever used, and I have tried many before this gel was recommended. I have shared this item with many of my friends, and they love it as well.

CHANTILL
Abingdon, MD
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Light & Soft
September 4, 2009
I love this product. For years I was using African Pride, twist n lock gel...there is no comparison. This Black Earth lock it up gel makes my hair feel light & soft.

keri
texas
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
lock up gel
August 29, 2009
My hair is not locked, but I use this gel for twists and twistouts , This product gives my hair a curl pattern which is great considering my hair hardly has one. It is one of my favs at Treasured locks.

Desiree
Las Vegas, NV
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
This is a great gel!
May 17, 2009
My sister and I coil our own natural hair and this gel is just great. Before we used the Let's Jam! hair gel, which worked, but it is not half as good as the Lock It Up gel. It has a wonderful smell--not at all strong or unpleasant, just fuity and light. It is moisturizing, too; it has an emollient feel to it--very nice! It does bring out the natural curl in your hair. The previous gel we used did not, probably because of all of the chemicals (the ingredients list was a mile long). Also it used to "soap" up and get bubbly when it was rub into hair that was wet (the hair is sprayed with water to do the coiled style). LIU gel didn't do that. This Lock It Up gel is SO good. We just love it! Give it a try!

Rae Scruggs
Dallas, TX
0 Stars
Review for
March 2, 2009
I have been using this since my hair has grown out long enough to twist. This has to be the most wonderful gel I have found since going natural. My hair is dyed which can dry your hair and this gel doesn't dry out my hair and gives my brown/blonde hair a really wonderful sheen. I love this gel and always make sure I have at least 2 extra in my closet at all times so I don't run out of it.

Gina
Georgia
0 Stars
Review for
September 24, 2008
I have been natural for a year now and I normally wear two-strand twist or twist out. My hair isn't locked nor do I plan to lock it, but the Lock It Up Gel does wonders for twists. I use a little on each strand before I twist it and my twists come out defined and shiny. When I use other gels, my twists do not look nearly as good! This is great.

nesta
Florida
0 Stars
Review for
September 3, 2007
I've been using this product for a while now. It provides a great hold without any build up. The 6oz. container is a great buy because a little of this product goes a long way. * * Great site with good service so far.

Denise
Iraq
0 Stars
Review for
June 18, 2007
This is a truly great product for natural hair. It's the best that I've seen in 20 plus years. Please keep up the good work. Thanks!